Executive Committee members

The Executive Committee is responsible for the strategic oversight and direction of the day-to-day management of the Crick. It supports and advises the Director and CEO in the discharge of his responsibilities and has delegated authority to make some decisions on his behalf. It develops plans to implement the Crick's strategy and ensures their delivery, maintaining financial and operational integrity. The Committee is led by the Director, Sir Paul Nurse, who reports to the Board.

  1. Sir Paul Nurse, Director and Chief Executive

    Paul Nurse is responsible for interactions with the Board and funders, as well as all aspects of the institute's operations, including science strategy, recruitment, resource allocation and management. 

    Paul Nurse was appointed in January 2011 following seven years as President of Rockefeller University in New York. He was also President of the Royal Society from December 2010 to December 2015.

    Before moving to the US, Paul spent more than three decades as a research scientist in the UK. His senior positions included Chair of Microbiology at the University of Oxford and Director General of the Imperial Cancer Research Fund (ICRF). He played a major role in ICRF's merger with the Cancer Research Campaign in 2002 to form Cancer Research UK - which he led as Chief Executive.

    Paul, along with Tim Hunt and Lee Hartwell, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2001. He also won the US Albert Lasker Award and numerous other awards and medals. His current research focuses on the molecular machinery that drives cell division and controls cell shape.


  2. Dr Sam Barrell, Chief Operating Officer (COO)

    Dr Sam Barrell is the Chief Operating Officer of the Crick and is responsible for leading the operational management and running of the institute.

    Sam joined the Crick in September 2017 from a career in the NHS as a noted healthcare leader, manager and a former GP.

    Sam was Chief Executive of the Taunton and Somerset NHS Foundation Trust, which runs Musgrove Park hospital and serves a patient population of around 538,000 people. Before that, she played a major role as Chief Clinical Officer in overseeing the formation of the South Devon and Torbay Clinical Commissioning Group - the body which plans, organises and oversees healthcare services in that area - at the time of the 2012 reforms of the National Health Service.

    Sam sits on a number of advisory boards for think tanks and healthcare networks and was awarded the CBE in 2014.


  3. Sir Richard Treisman, Director of Research

    Richard Treisman joined the Crick as Director of Research in April 2015. He was previously the Director of the Cancer Research UK London Research Institute (at  Lincoln's Inn Fields and  Clare Hall), which he was appointed to in 2002 after three years as Director of Laboratory Research at the Imperial Cancer Research Fund (ICRF). He joined ICRF in 1988 from the Medical Research Council (MRC) Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge.

    Richard was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1994 and a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2000. He received the EMBO Medal in 1995 and the Louis Jeantet prize in 2002.

    His current research interest is the interaction between cytoskeletal dynamics and transcriptional regulation.


  4. Dr Steve Gamblin, Director of Science Operations

    Steve Gamblin is Director of Science Operations at the Crick and was Director of Research at the Medical Research Council (MRC)'s National Institute for Medical Research before it joined the Crick.

    Steve's research has provided critical insights into the fundamental mechanisms underlying cellular signalling and disease processes. Steve is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, a member of EMBO and a Fellow of the Royal Society. 


  5. Professor Malcolm Irving, King's College London

    Malcolm Irving is Professor of Biophysics and Director of the Randall Division of Cell and Molecular Biophysics at King's College London. He also chairs the Research Committee of the School of Biomedical Sciences at King's. His main research interest is in molecular mechanisms in contraction and regulation of skeletal and cardiac muscle.

    Malcolm was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2003 and a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2006.


  6. John Macey, Director of Human Resources

    John has 20 years' experience in HR. He began his career in fast-paced acute healthcare organisations, mainly within the NHS, and held roles at all levels, including the executive board. Most recently John was an HR Director with Cancer Research UK working alongside Scientific and Fundraising colleagues and has also held non-executive Director roles with smaller charities.  

    John is a member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development and throughout his career has led numerous change initiatives  in mergers, financially constrained and growth environments. He has been aligned to the Crick project for several years and joined the team full time in September 2013. 


  7. Stephane Maikovsky, Chief Financial Officer

    Stéphane has over 25 years of financial management experience, the last 15 of which were spent in the pharmaceutical industry working for Amgen where he was in charge of finance for all research and development activities (excluding the US).  


  8. Jane Hughes, Director of Communications

    Jane joined the Crick in April 2018. She is a former BBC health correspondent and communications lead at Rethink Mental Illness and the Royal College of Nursing.

    In two decades at the BBC, Jane spent six years as health correspondent covering medical breakthroughs. As Director of Communications at Rethink Mental Illness, she led work to raise awareness of mental illness, including the award-winning "Finding Mike" campaign, which trended globally. As Associate Director of Communications at the Royal College of Nursing, she led a successful campaign to lift the seven-year cap on nursing pay.